The Island

The major islands and island groups in Maluku are: Ambonia Island, Aru Islands, Babar Island, Barat Daya Islands (including Wetar Island), Banda Islands, Buru, Kei Islands, Leti Islands, Makian, Saparua, Seram, and the Tanimbar Islands.

Map of Java Islands
Fig. Map of Java Islands.


In the sixteenth and seventeenth century, the islands of North Maluku was the sole source of cloves. The Dutch, Portuguese, and the local kingdoms including Ternate and Tidore fought each other for control of the lucrative trade in these spices.


The Maluku Islands are located on the Australian plate, lying east of Sulawesi (Celebes), west of New Guinea, and north of Timor.


Diving, hiking, snorkeling, birdwatching, culture.